Remove this ad

Lead

Sep 16 12 7:12 PM

Tags : :

Hi
My name is Justin Davey and I am a filmmaker originally from Nova Scotia. Soon after graduating from a BFA in filmmaking in 2008, I began thinking about affordable living and my future desires to see the world. While living in the attic of an old mansion, which overlooked Lake Ontario, I came to a natural idea. Go to sea. Having once sailed Lasers on a small lake at children's summer camp, I harkened back to that feeling and joy from drifting in the wind. Now would be the best time I figured to buy a boat and get going. I needed a little boat that I could afford with no money and found a Continental Folkboat in Toronto where I lived. The bulkheads were rotten, but it was a well built fiberglass boat.  The little brother of the Alberg 30 I so desired, having recently then discovered fellow Canadian Mr. Yves Gelinas round the world film Jean Du Sud. So I asked the owners of this boat if I could pay them off in increments over the summer. They agreed and I moved aboard. I made several small improvements to the boat and sold her the fall. The girlfriend I named her after was not so inspiring anymore. I immediately needed another boat next summer to live on. 
That was the summer of 2008, and two boats later I am still struggling to find the cruising life I wanted. Naturally, I looked at simplifying my life in every way to save money. Finally, I was able to bring a boat up to Toronto from California, dump a bunch of time and money into it and then sell it for what might then buy me a larger more liveable boat. I knew I wanted this boat to be on the west coast, where I could live comfortably in-water year round and take advantage of the abundant sea life for food. So finally I escaped Toronto's grasp, and the horribly paying but nevertheless enjoyable job of driving a city taxi.